Bread

13 Apr

“If thou tastest a crust of bread, thou tastest all the stars and all the heavens.” –Robert Browning

Walking through the kitchen yesterday, I noticed the two last slices of oven-fresh bread my sister-in-law had made, sitting in the midst of supper dishes and baby food jars.

It smelled of garlic and wonder. Naturally, I ran and got my camera.

I love the wooden cutting board, the crumbs. The way the light gleams off the shiny knife, the way the light is absorbed into the bread, the shadows. The bits of seasoning on top.

Bread is just plain good, my friend.

Until next time,

LoveByrd

Leave a Reply

