Max and Mud

9 Jun

“The life of our city is rich in poetic and marvelous subjects. We are enveloped and steeped as though in an atmosphere of the marvelous; but we do not notice it.” – Charles Baudelaire

I slipped my Max ticket into my purse and stepped onto the shuttle.

It was time I faced Portland. Alone.

To be honest, I had no idea where I was going. I had studied road maps, MapQuested directions and researched the Tri-Met Max system, but everything may as well have been written in German. And driving to downtown Portland was out of the question, with the Rose Festival taking place this weekend. So I decided I would continue to ride  the Max until I reached the end of my route, and then ride it back to make an exit at a place that looked interesting. How bad could it be?

Not too bad, actually, this country girl found out. Given, I felt like a fish out of water, as I was raised and lived on a 600-acre farm for over 16 years of my life.

The one piece of information cemented in my brain was to avoid the eastern part of town. I boarded the first Max shuttle I came across, which was ironically east-bound. I discovered this half-way through the trip, so I jumped off somewhere near the China-Town district and decided to explore.

Luckily, I found this amazing carnival. With a few bucks shelled out and a blue stamp smudged on the top of my hand, I proceeded to slide through the mud, make some friends, and get a few shots in the popcorn-scented drizzle.

I also discovered that this carnival was alongside the river running through the city. Being as I currently am not familiar with directions and such, I cannot tell you the exact location. But I did discover that the traffic was backed up as far as I could see. Hoorah for public transportation!
Damp and exhausted, I decided to end the day by trying some Thai food from one of the local restaurants. It was delicious!
Tomorrow will continue to bring very new adventures, and hopefully some decent photo opportunities. I’ll give you a hint: it involves sand.
Until next time,
LoveByrd
Leave a Reply

