For the Love of Veggies

19 Jun

Dear friend,

Some days are meant for being a little lazy. Take today for instance – I made it a point to get almost nine hours of sleep last night, and had my alarm set for 7:30 a.m. so I could start the day right with some early-morning exercise before I headed out to the grocery store.

What did I do?

Roll over and fall back to sleep. For almost 2 1/2 hours. All hopes of being productive flew out the window.

After grocery shopping, however, I decided to drop by a local pizza shop I had been told served some pretty mean bites. Curious, I ordered a small “Very Veggie” pizza, complete with spinach, feta, mushrooms, tomatoes, olives, and more. In other words, it was loaded with scrumptious produce and baked to perfection.

I didn’t open the box ’til I got back to the house, but boy-oh-boy, was I surprised!

The crust wasn’t perfect, like you’d expect when opening a Pizza Hut or Domino’s box. The circle was a little lop-sided. But then I realized that’s probably how a good pizza should look – something hand-made, something that didn’t look like a Totino’s cardboard pizza.

One bite into the pizza told me that my assumption was correct. And I write to you today to tell you I’ve found the best pizza shop this side of the U.S. It’s called Bo’s Pizzas, and I will certainly be back.

I also made some mango salsa with some of the produce that I stocked up on today – trying to shed some of the pounds I’ve put on over the last couple of weeks!

I didn’t get a shot of the finished product, but it included red onions, mango, avocado and tomatoes. Yum!

The rest of the day will include visiting a market for some local strawberries and planning out my last week (eek!) as an intern here in the rainy state.

FYI: I realize Mutemath has been around for a while, but I’m really digging their “Odd Soul” album. Check ’em out if you haven’t already.

Until next time,

LoveByrd

Leave a Reply

