A Summer Afternoon

20 Jun

“If more of us valued food and cheer above hoarded gold, it would be a much merrier world.” – J. R. R. Tolkien

There are very few food items in the world that I prefer over a green tea frappuccino with extra whip. Forget the calories for a moment, and the muffin top that magically appears at your waistline later on that day. It’s like happiness in a plastic cup. I sat out in front of that magical store, and slowly sipped the drink. Watched the cars drive by. Enjoyed the fact that, on the first day of summer, I was chilly in the shade, knowing that in a few weeks I’ll reminisce about that one moment when I was cold in the summertime.

Later, I headed to the Beaverton Farmer’s Market. It sits beside a fun little water park that had attracted not a few swimsuit-laden locals and adjacent from a public library. The sounds of splashes and giggles and chatter filled the air.

I was surprised that the market was as small as it was – there also is one held on Saturday, and it may be bigger than the mid-week market. I also saw many of the same vendors that were selling at the Hillsboro Tuesday market. In essence, then, my picture opportunities were limited, since I had already photographed many of the vendors last week.

However, the reason I attended the Beaverton Farmer’s Market wasn’t simply to browse — I am writing a story about a particular baker at the market. I spent a couple of hours talking with her and taking pictures of her stunning desserts. But, sadly, I haven’t finished that story yet. I’m hoping to have it wrapped up by this weekend. ‘Til then, here’s a teaser of what’s to come.

Until next time,

LoveByrd

Leave a Reply

