Stumbling on Twilight

21 Jun

“And so the lion fell in love with the lamb…” – Edward Cullen, Twilight

With some extra time on my hands this morning, I decided to check out some new blogs and get creative inspiration flowing for the upcoming day. As I was clicking through different fashion, photography and design blogs, I came across some really sweet thrifting blogs – not something I’m usually interested in, but the more I read and saw, the more I realized I absolutely was going antique shopping today.

I told John about it, hoping he’d know of a good antique store or two that I could visit. Long story short, we decided to take a trip to St. Helens. He would get coffee with a friend, and I would peruse the stores for a couple of hours.

As we were driving through the downtown streets of the city (which were, literally, just a few streets), John happened to mention that a couple of scenes from the first Twilight movie were filmed here.

As you may guess, my plans for the afternoon quickly changed.

According to Susan Conn of Word for Word Books and Espresso in “Olde Towne” St. Helens, the filming of the Twilight movie took place in the town without many of the residents actually knowing what movie was being filmed. But Conn said she did see the security guards around the filming areas as well as the food tents set up for the cast and crew.

Conn gave me a Twilight tour map of the city, which highlighted the locations where important scenes were filmed. So, with map in hand, I set off to explore the area, snapping a few pictures along the way.

First, I stopped by Jilly’s, the store that supplied the items for the scene at Petit Jolie’s, where Angela and Jessica tried on prom dresses. I can’t recall what the dresses looked like in the movie, but Jilly’s is certainly carrying some eye-catching items these days!

I then dropped by La Bella Italia – now known as the Bloated Toad. I’m supposing that this charmingly-titled building was once a restaurant; now, it looks more like a residence than anything. Regardless, I think all Twihards can remember the scene when Edward convinces Bella to grab a plate of mushroom ravioli and they walk up the steps of this building.

Even though it has been a while since I’ve seen the first Twilight film, I found it interesting how some of the locations looked so much different in person than they did in the movie. For instance, I probably would have never recognized the parking lot that was used as the infamous scene where Bella finds herself surrounded by the shady men and Edward screeches to the rescue.

But, for other locations, like Bella’s house, I felt like I was sort of the in the movie. The house was on this tiny little street at the top of a hill, and when I saw it, my stomach dropped. It was one of those really strange moments when something fictional comes to life in this incredible way. The only thing missing was Bella’s truck and the police cruiser. And, of course, the characters.

Some other notable areas included the theater, which supposedly served as a backdrop in one of the scenes.

I also got a picture of what was Thunderbird & Whale, the bookstore where Bella visited – now, just a normal house to the side of the same parking lot used for the shady men scene.

While I was there, I did get to visit several of the antique stores, and I even bought a couple of souvenirs!

John wanted to take my picture with the theater in the background for proof: Yes, I experienced the Twilight tour of St. Helens!

And these are my St. Helens’ treasures:

Until next time,

LoveByrd

Leave a Reply

