Flags and Forks

9 Jul

“Live as if you were to die tomorrow. Learn as if you were to live forever.” – Mahatma Gandhi

Dear friend,

I’m continuing to play catch up with posts, as I hope to fill you in up to the middle of my week. Hopefully by Tuesday, everything I post will be freshly experienced. Recapping can be challenging, and I certainly don’t want to forget to tell you anything important!

On Tuesday evening, I attended my very first rodeo in St. Paul, Ore. Talk about an experience – the energetic vibe literally had the stadium humming, as people from all over the area had come out to experience the first night of the annual event. Being the day before Independence Day, the event was obviously surrounded by American patriotism, but plenty of good country fun still characterized the rodeo.

The highlight of the evening was seeing a young boy win the bull-riding contest. He was so excited about his score that he did this little dance, and it was replayed on the big screen. Everyone was laughing hysterically – so cute! Sadly, some people did get hurt during the night. The banner woman ran her horse into the arena wall – but thankfully, neither were hurt. One of the bronco riders also got stomped pretty badly, but he was able to walk off the arena with some help. Overall,  it was an interesting experience!

On Wednesday, I traveled along the Oregon coast for the last time and made my way through Washington, stopping in Forks. For those who aren’t familiar with the Twilight craze, Forks is where the Twilight books/movies are set.

Forks was…small. To say the least. It reminded me of my own home town, where you enter and exit the town in less than five minutes. The main street was dotted with reminders of the Twilight books, with everything that could possibly be associated with the phenomena on proud display  (including “Twilight firewood” – maybe from the tree Edward climbed in the first movie?).

I stayed in this adorable cottage placed neatly in a neighborhood, which was a definite plus in that it didn’t feel like I was in a hotel. During my stay, I had the chance to visit Lapush Beach to see the sunset, as well as run by some familiar hot spots from the books.

While I was excited to be visiting Forks, I felt badly for the locals. Only a handful of years ago, their town was just a dot on a map. Now, crazed females ranging from pimple-speckled teenagers to wrinkly grandmothers flock to this once-quiet place. The Twihards spend their time taking pictures of Twilight landmarks, jamming up the parking lot at the sheriff’s department, making their own recorded versions of Meyer’s story, and pacing in front of the high school to dream about which parking space Edward’s shiny Volvo may have graced. Given, though, I’m sure the citizens of Forks appreciate the jump in business that Meyer has provided. It would be difficult to imagine the town without the vampire gift shops and the Twilight-inspired menus provided at restaurants. And I suppose I didn’t feel bad enough not to completely enjoy myself and indulge in a few souvenirs, including my own set of vampire teeth!

Tomorrow, I’m hoping to share about my experiences in a variety of national parks in several states. It will be quite the collage of shots!

Until next time,

LoveByrd

2 Responses to “Flags and Forks”

  1. Becky July 9, 2012 at 9:36 pm #

    Enjoy reading your blog, and your pictures are great Beth!

Leave a Reply

