The Woodland Trek

10 Jul

“Breathless, we flung us on a windy hill, Laughed in the sun, and kissed the lovely grass.” – Rupert Brooke

Dear friend,

Since Wednesday, I have visited more national parks than I can count. Starting with the Olympic National Park, it seemed like you merely topped a hill and entered a new area.

In Washington, I was surprised by the extensive logging that had taken place. The parks, obviously, hadn’t been touched, but any area outside of a reserved section seemed to be tarnished with chunks of the forests cut down to wooden stubs. I didn’t travel everywhere in Oregon, but I definitely didn’t notice this situation in the areas I visited.

Idaho, Montana, Wyoming and South Dakota also had fewer signs of logging – thank goodness! However, wildfires had ravaged Yellowstone and other areas. Much of the forests was devastated with blackened trees from more recent fires and the whitened remains of trees scorched years ago. While I got to see some wildlife there – including a buffalo about two feet from the car, and a moose about twenty feet away – the animals also were scarce, at best.

Sadly, I don’t remember the names of each of the parks I was in, and I can’t pinpoint where each of the pictures was taken. But, I’ll try to do my best explaining the important points!

The following pictures were more in the Washington/Idaho area, particularly near Mount Rainier.

These pictures were taken near Seattle – which was, surprisingly, one of my favorite cities so far on this trip. I didn’t spend too much time there but hope to visit again soon. I just loved the vibe of the place, as it is a large city but the people seemed very connected with one another.

And we return to more mountains and snow – yes, snow. In July. Crazy!

This bookstore in Montana is simply swamped with each and every kind of book you can possibly imagine. As if the rows upon rows of shelves aren’t enough, there is also a basement to this place that is filled to the brim with all types of paperbacks. I found some lovely cookbooks, as well as a fiction book I hope to read during the remainder of the summer.

And, finally, Yellowstone!

Until next time,

LoveByrd

One Response to “The Woodland Trek”

  1. vagabondfotografia July 15, 2012 at 9:41 pm #

    Just so so amazing!!! Love all these photo’s! really great job! they look professional!!

Leave a Reply

