The Last Beginning

23 Aug

“It doesn’t matter where you are, you are nowhere compared to where you can go.” -Bob Proctor

Dear friend,
There is something about being a senior that makes you both squirmy and sentimental at the same time. I can barely wait to finish classes this semester, and they have just begun. But thinking back on everything that has happened during the past several years simply makes me want to stop time and say, “WHAT’S GOING ON HERE?” Oh, brother.

I also find continual, overwhelming change to be normal, even welcomed. Moving continues to characterize my life these days, as I seem to feel most at home when the floor is covered in  clothes and belongings lie stashed away in boxes or splashed across a room in messy piles.

For instance, couple of weekends ago I traveled across the state to help my boyfriend change rooms at his apartment. We turned the moving event into a long weekend of exploring the city, window shopping and eating some incredibly good food – mostly incredibly bad-for-you food (Hello, Doughnut Country!). You should have seen us in Wal-Mart as we searched the produce section for something green to add to our meal – indecisive doesn’t begin to describe the situation. We finally gave up and enjoyed our heavily-yellow palette of baked chicken, saffron rice and spiral Mac-N-Cheese, washed down with Triple Chocolate Brownies and a comedy show. What made the meal even better was that he cooked it while I worked on some things for the newspaper retreat I was helping host – ah, gotta love a man who cooks!

We also dined at a little place called Newk’s – we both ordered the Newk’s “Q” sandwich, and it was simply divine. While it’s not somewhere that my college-esque, Taco Bell value menu budget can afford on a daily basis, I’m happy to announce that there is another location a bit closer to where I live – so it’s a good place to go for a treat.

This past week consisted of my university newspaper retreat, where staff and writers arrived early to settle into their dorms (more moving! more boxes! more craziness!) and enjoy some bonding time before classes started. I’m not sure about everyone else, but I loved getting to meet some new faces and getting to see some familiar ones. I expect great things from the newspaper this year, and I hope to share many of our experiences with you. It will be quite a journey of change, for the better, I feel.

Oh, fall semester. You’ve arrived so soon, but I greet you happily, fondly calling you my very last fall semester. And in (less than!) nine short months, I also hope to be walking across that stage on that great lawn and look forward to the start of something new. Very, very new.

On a side note, I’ve been crunching on something one of my professors mentioned last semester – that college does a poor job at preparing students for the real world in some ways, particularly in professionalism. After all, we students show up to class wearing things we would probably never wear to future jobs, and we get into this rut of being sort of sloppy and lazy with our appearance. And I can only say that because that’s been me on way too many occasions. So, it’s my goal this semester to be proactive in not only building a more professional wardrobe, but to also try to pull my act together before life drop kicks me in the gut and I have no choice. It’s dresses and skirts and heels to class for the next two semesters, at least on a regular basis.

One more side note before I end these ramblings – I made some scrumptious pulled pork sandwiches in the Crock-pot today, and it was super-crazy simple. Naturally, I altered the recipe a bit, but it essentially consisted of part of a pork shoulder (I used tenderloin – it was on sale, though it didn’t give the right “shredded” affect, if you know what I mean), bbq sauce and the juice of an orange. It took all of about five minutes to prep this morning, and I had a delicious lunch waiting for me between classes.

 

Until next time,

LoveByrd

2 Responses to “The Last Beginning”

  1. Jim Grammer August 23, 2012 at 10:28 pm #

    Byrd – I appreciate your desire to get comfortable sporting what might be considered(in some circles) more ‘professional’ garb. At the same time I want to assure you that at no time did you seem one whit less than professional during our interactions in Hillsboro. In fact, I was seriously impressed with your approach and demeanor; wondering at one point what experiences/background allowed you to seem so centered. You go girl!

    • thelovebyrd August 24, 2012 at 5:39 am #

      Aww, thanks so much Mr. Jim! I really appreciate that!

Leave a Reply

