Thinking of Autumn

25 Aug

“In three words I can sum up everything I’ve learned about life: it goes on.” – Robert Frost

Dear friend,

I’m beginning to look forward to the upcoming change in seasons. I’m craving the smell of spices, the gentle scratchiness of sweaters, warm cookies, cold noses, leaves swirling as you drive down a country road. I want to roll down the windows and breathe the smell of fall. I think I get more homesick then, simply because the country life is so much more appealing than the city in that season. In the summer, everything is hot, everywhere you go. I stay indoors most the time, so it doesn’t matter much where exactly I am.
Oh, but the fall. Simply irresistible. You need trees around you, to hear the crunch of dying grass underneath your feet, see miles of golden fields before you, walk down dirt paths and sit by quiet ponds and read, draw, journal, think. In subtle ways I can already feel it crouching for its pounce, especially in the mornings – I can smell it as well. Can you?

I’ve spent most of my morning and early afternoon finishing up some homework due Monday, and will be working on some editorials and news releases due toward the end of next week. It’s nice, though, not to have anything humongous pressing in my schedule this weekend, not yet at least. Not too long ago, all I wanted was to stay busy with a million things to do. These days, the simple life is so appealing. I guess that means I’m getting old – hah.

In between reading the Aeneid and breaking apple juice jars (I think I swept the floor 5 times and still came up with glass shards), I decided to try out a new pasta dish. It was delicious, a mixture of tortellini in a cream sauce with peas and shredded cheese. While I just happened to have beef stock on hand, I would like to try out chicken and vegetable stock in the future to vary the taste. The peas, however, surprisingly made the dish – both in taste and color.
Until next time,
LoveByrd
6 Responses to “Thinking of Autumn”

  1. sybaritica August 26, 2012 at 9:21 pm #

    Very hearty :)

  2. Janelle September 1, 2012 at 2:14 pm #

    Looks delicious! Although I love many things about fall, I’m not feeling ready to let go of summer yet. I’m releasing my grip slowly.

    • thelovebyrd September 2, 2012 at 12:05 pm #

      So true – there are many great things about summer! What are your favorites?

      • Janelle September 3, 2012 at 4:40 am #

        Summer is so easy. I don’t have to worry about all the winter/snow gear. Chores are easier. Travel is easier. And our summer is short, so I often feel like I just plain haven’t had the time to do the summer things I love – camping, fishing, the beach. But I do feel a kind of peaceful resignation steal over me with the arrival of cooler weather and the falling leaves. :)

      • thelovebyrd September 7, 2012 at 6:45 pm #

        You must live somewhere that gets much cooler than where I live. I knew a girl around my home town who used to live in sandals, even in the dead of winter – your comment of snow gear made me think about that! Fall is like a peaceful resignation, though. What a nice way to describe it.

Leave a Reply

